Symphony No. 7 of Beethoven / Emperor Concerto
Beethoven Cycle
25 October 2014



Music full of vitality, beauty and serene emotion was the prime legacy of Ludwig van Beethoven. He endowed the orchestra with the power to speak and express the inexpressible, beyond the limits of time. Albert Einstein summed it up perfectly: before Beethoven music was written for immediate consumption, he said, whereas from Beethoven onwards it was for all eternity.



Ludwig van Beethoven:

Overture Coriolà, op. 62;

Piano Concerto No 5, op. 73 in E major, Emperor Concerto;

Symphony No 7, op. 92 in A major


Josep Maria Colom, piano

Josep Pons, Conductor

Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu

October 2014
Saturday 25 18:00 F


First part: 50 min.
Pause: 30 min.
Second part: 40 min.
Total aprox.: 2 h