Preliminary Auditions

The Jury will be selected by the Artistic Direction of each theatre where the auditions are held.


Final Round

President: Christina Scheppelmann (Germany), General Artistic Director, Gran Teatre del Liceu, Barcelona;

Jonathan Friend (United Kingdom), Artistic Administrator, Metropolitan Opera, Nuw York;

Alessandro Galoppini (Italy), Director of Artistic Department, Teatro Regio Torino;

Toni Gradsack (Austria), Casting Manager, Teatro alla Scala, Milan;

Tobias Hasan (Austria), Artistic Director. Staatsoper Unter den Linden;

Peter Mario Katona (Germany), Casting Director, Royal Opera House Covent Garden, London;

Joan Matabosch (Spain), Artistic Director, Teatro Real, Madrid;

Joan Pons (Spain), Bariton;

Neil Shicoff (USA), Tenor;

Ilias Tzempetonidis (Greece), Casting Director, Opéra National, Paris;

Dimitry Vdovin (Russia), Artistic Director of the Young Program of the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia, Moscow.


A member of the Jury who is, or has been, a teacher of one of the contestants will not be permitted to vote for that contestant.The Jury will designate the winners of all the prizes: Official, Extraordinary and Special.When a decision by the Jury is reached unanimously, it wilI be declared as such, publicly.

The Jury reserves the right to withhold the awards if entrants faiI to reach the required standards.The decisions of the Jury will be final.