Gluck's ballet piece, based on the universal work of Molière

Jordi Savall's formations, external to the Theater and from different origins, are invited to this concert. Due to the impossibility of bringing together the significant number of musicians required to offer Beethoven's 9th, at the proposal of the Maestro and in agreement with the Liceu, it has been decided to postpone this program until the 2021/22 season and offer an attractive proposal that presents Christoph Willibald Gluck's Don Juan.

Based on the universal play by Molière, Gluck wrote this ballet piece a year before his successful Orfeo ed Euridice. Premiered in Vienna in 1761 and together with Les Éléments de Rebelde (which includes the fascinating and audacious Chaos) and the first suite of Handel's famous Aquatic Music, the Liceu puts Gluck's work in dialogue with Mozart's Don Giovanni, in the stage proposal by Christoph Loy and conducted by Josep Pons.

With the support of:

  • Approximate running time 1h 11m (without interval)

Artistic profile

Jordi Savall

With support from the Department of Culture of the Generalitat de Catalunya, the Barcelona Provincial Authority, Barcelona City Council, the Edmond de Rothschild Foundations and the Banc de Sabadell Foundation.  

Le Concert des Nations is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the French Republic. 

October 2020

25Sunday17:00Turn TCancelled

Information of Interest


Jean-Féry Rebel (1666 – 1747)
Les Éléments, 1737

  • Le Chaos : L’Eau - L’Air - La Terre - Le Feu
  • [Loure I:] La Terre - Chaconne: Le Feu
  • Ramage: L’Air - Rossignols
  • Rondeau: Air pour l’Amou
  • Loure [II] - Sicillienne - Caprice
  • Premier Tambourin: L’Eau
  • ​Second Tambourin - Premier Tambourin: L’Eau

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)
Música Aquàtica, 1717
Suite I
(Fa major, HWV 348)

  • Ouverture: Largo – Allegro
  • Adagio e staccato
  • [Allegro] – Andante – [Allegro]
  • [Minuet] – Air
  • Bourrée – Hornpipe
  • [Aria] – Minuet

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714 – 1787)
Don Juan, Viena 1761
Convitato di Pietra
Ballet Pantomime

Simfonia: Allegro
1. Andante grazioso
2. Andante
3. Allegro forte risoluto
[ – Andante – Allegro – Andante – Allegro]
4. Allegro gustoso
5. Moderato
6. Grazioso
7. Allegro
8. Moderato – Presto – Moderato – Presto
9. Risoluto e Moderato
10. Allegro
11. Allegro
12. Allegro
13. Andante staccato
14. Larghetto
15. FURIA: Allegro non troppo