A tour de force by Josep Pons who will conduct the music to Stravinky's three great ballets in a single concert 

Only rarely do we have the opportunity to hear three of the symphonic masterpieces of all time in a single evening. One of the most striking traits of the mythical Ballets Russes was the company's fertile and ground-breaking cooperation with the composers and visual artists of the time. Stravinsky was one of the musicians whose relationship with Diaghilev marked a major turning point.

Between 1924 and 1956 Stravinsky visited Barcelona six times, giving 12 concerts here (10 at the Gran Teatre del Liceu). In 1928 he personally conducted these selfsame works here: The Firebird (1910), Petrushka (1911) and The Rite of Spring (1913). On that occasion they were divided into two separate concerts.

This time Josep Pons will be ascending the stage to offer us the chance to hear and enjoy three revolutionary works in a single, extraordinarily challenging programme, a once-off musical festival, superlatively modern and full of rhythm, contrast and orchestral brilliance. Under his baton, the scenes from the ballets metamorphose into veritable monuments of sound.  The music escalates into the glorification of the "chosen one", who must be sacrificed if spring is ever to return. So let us give Josep Pons a mandate to perform the atavistic ceremony of abduction and pagan sacrifice and make the maiden dance so that the new season can begin.

With the support of: 

With the collaboration of:

  • Approximate running time 2h 30m

Artistic profile

Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu
Josep Pons

Memorial Pau Casals (Centenari de l’Orquestra Pau Casals)
Pau Casals és un referent de la música i un símbol de la pau. L’any 1896 va entrar a formar part de l’Orquestra del Gran Teatre del Liceu. Aquest any 2020 celebrem el centenari de l’Orquestra Pau Casals, que va ser dirigida en diferents ocasions per I. Stravinski al Liceu, interpretant per primera vegada moltes de les seves obres a Barcelona.

March 2021

5Friday20:00Turn C

Information of Interest


I. Stravinski
The Firebird 
The Rite of Spring