Alessandrini's expert interpretation of Monteverdi's madrigals

Monteverdi's fifth book of madrigals was a milestone in the evolution of polyphonic style towards a musical grammar that is more modern and more challenging in terms of harmony. Thus from the sixth book onwards, works with readily identifiable traits give way to a wide array of forms. Madrigals, the perfect medium for expressing human passions, became the point of departure for the composer's subsequent research which culminated in the creation of opera.

The sixth book, which is for five voices, was published in 1614 and is divided into two parts, each beginning with a lament (Lamento d’Arianna and Sestina). The theatrical experience Monteverdi had gained in L’Orfeo caused his madrigals to evolve towards a more individual treatment of the voices.

Alessandrini's performances of Monteverdi have delighted audiences at Milan's La Scala and the Opéra de Paris. Now he visits the Liceu to act as master of ceremonies at the presentation of these enigmatic madrigals.

  • Approximate running time 1h 20m

Artistic profile

Concerto Italiano
Rinaldo Alessandrini

June 2022


Information of Interest


C. Monteverdi
Book 6