The myth and tragedy of the famous virtuoso soprano

Play Marina Abramović




The Serbian artist Marina Abramović is the mother of performance art. Behind her lies a splendid career spanning over four decades which has contributed greatly to redefining the image of the female body in the 20th and 21st centuries. Her works are autobiographical and draw on the suffering caused by disillusionment and dramatic love affairs. As a result they find a special echo in the life of the great diva Maria Callas (1923-1977), who embodied mortal passions in both opera and private life.

Abramović presents this show, which combines opera, live art, performance art and video creation, to mark the centenary of the birth of Callas, also known as La Divina Assoluta. Entitled The Seven Deaths of Maria Callas, it contains some of the iconic arias which studded the Greek soprano's career and recall the countless women "sacrificed" by 19th century composers in their toy theatres where women were invariably the victims.

Abramović's passion, obsession and empathy with the myth and tragedy of the famous virtuoso soprano reach their peak in this new immersive experience based on the premature deaths of seven characters – ranging from the abandoned bride to the deserted mistress – who are also self-portraits of the artist who plays them.

Callas's complex personal life was marked by lost loves and a lonely death and she lives again before our eyes in these reinterpretations of death scenes. In each traumatic moment of loss, love and longing, Abramović honours and inhabits Callas's own spirit, suggesting the possibility of reimagining and redefining these roles for future generations of singers.

With the support of:

Logo Aena 2023 ES




Show included at the Barcelona Obertura Spring Festival

Barcelona Obertura







7 Deaths of Maria Callas
Scenes from operas by Vincenzo Bellini, Georges Bizet, Gaetano Donizetti, Giacomo Puccini and Giuseppe Verdi 
World premiere 01/09/2020 at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich 
Libretto by Petter Skavlan and Marina Abramović 
Operatic project: Marina Abramović  
Music: Marko Nikodijević  

  • Approximate running time 1h 30m

Artistic profile

Director and sets
Marina Abramović
Conception of the Stage Design
Anna Schöttl
Revival Director
Georgine Balk
Benedikt Stampfli
Film Director
Nabil Elderkin 
Riccardo Tisci for Burberry
Urs Schönebaum 
Luka Kozlovacki 
Visual Intermezzos
Marco Brambilla 
Film Actor and Performance
Marina Abramović
Film Actor
Willem Dafoe 
Revival Stage Manager
Tobias Lenfers
Stage Director Assistat
Anna Llopart
Lighting Assistant
Benedikt Zehm
Bayerische Staatsoper of Munich, Greek National Opera of Athens, Deutsche Oper of Berlin, Opéra National of Paris, Teatro San Carlo of Naples


Chorus of the Gran Teatre del Liceu (Pablo Assante, conductor)
Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu
Antonio Méndez

7 Deaths of Maria Callas is an opera project by Marina Abramović with music by Marko Nikodijevic and scenes from operas by Vincenzo Bellini, Georges Bizet, Gaetano Donizetti, Giacomo Puccini and Giuseppe Verdi. Publisher: Internationale Musikverlag Hans Sikorski.

March 2023

Turn A
Turn B
Turn C

Programa de mà

T'oferim l'opció de descarregar-te el programa de mà de forma gratuïta.