The Liceu joins the celebration of a true legend of the piano

With seven performances at the Gran Teatre del Liceu (from 1939 to 2009), Alicia de Larrocha was, without a doubt, our country’s grand dame of the keyboard in the world. Respected and admired on all five continents, she was a true legend. 

Having passed away in 2009, this pianist from Barcelona would have celebrated her 100th birthday in 2023. 

A precocious pianist who began studying at the age of three and gave her first concert at the age of six, she has been the empress of Falla, Granados, Mompou and Albéniz, among others. A regular collaborator with legendary conductors such as Dutoit, Previn, Davis, Suelte, Mehta, Chailly, Abbado, Argenta and Jochum, De Larrocha fascinated with her absolute mastery of the piano. 

Under the guidance of Josep Pons, with whom she worked, the Gran Teatre del Liceu wants to join all the musical and cultural institutions that are celebrating her art this year. 

The work presents Beethoven's Emperor Concerto at the hands of Javier Perianes, heir to this international space of national piano virtuosity. A prince of the keyboard, he will pay this well-deserved tribute to the great Alicia. 

Beethoven's Symphony No. 7 completes the programme: a favourite score of the general public (always more attentive to the odd-numbered symphonies), it conveys a feeling of spontaneity. The Bonn composer himself referred to it as ‘one of my best works’, while Richard Wagner, due to its joyful rhythms, called it the apotheosis of dance. 

A perfect programme which, centred on two Beethovenian titans, will fill our minds with memories of a universal pianist who will live forever. 

Logo Alicia De Larrocha 2
  • Approximate running time 1h 55min
    • First part 40min
    • Interval 30min
    • Second part 42min

Artistic profile

Javier Perianes
Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu
Josep Pons

October 2023

Turn T


Here you can download the programme for free. Catalan or Spanish edition, only.


Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano concert No. 5, in E-Flat major, op. 73, “Emperor”
Symphony No. 7, in A major, op.92